top of page
Search

Be Thankful

Updated: Nov 4, 2020

I don’t know about you, but I cannot grasp that this year is almost over! Never, ever have I experienced a year quite like this. What in the world happened to 2020? I had a calendar full of plans. It went by so fast- but at the same time, the days and months seemed to drag on as we sheltered in.


No one could have predicted or prepared for an epic pandemic, global pandemonium, failed impeachment, stampedes of hoarding, racist groups wreaking havoc, staggering unemployment, tumultuous weather, manipulated financial markets, millions working remotely, raging wildfires, devastating home and business loses, civil unrest and not-so peaceful protest, forced homeschooling, exposed police brutality and most industries in shutdown or restructuring. In some way, due to the aforementioned calamities, I have, we have, all been affected.

We should look at our present circumstances relative to the season we are in. In my youth, the school year set the pace and like most students, I appreciated carefree summertime. In my early adulting years, ignorance was bliss and I just wanted the workday to end & appreciated the weekends. As a middle-aged adult, I realize that tomorrow isn’t promised to any of us. I am learning to take things one day at a time and be thankful along the way.


Because of this outlook, in this COVID season, I have no problem wearing a mask or adhering to the temporary, six feet apart social distancing guidelines because it is certainly better than being buried six feet under. My perspective is not a political one, but one of self-preservation.


Looking back on this year and what has happened in the world around me,

I am refusing (desperately trying) to not let events, circumstances affect or infect my attitude. This is no easy task and it requires great intention.


On social media platforms, it is common to see a range of daily post or hashtags declaring things like: SuperSunday, MotivationalMonday, TuesdayTasting, WednesdayWisdom, ThrowbackThursday, FridayNightLights, or SaturdaySwag. As we enter the holiday season, ThankfulThursday should help us focus on what's really important.











I’ll be the first to admit that some days, it’s hard to be thankful or grateful. Especially when life happens, things go wrong or fall apart, situations are beyond my control, others disappoint me or I disappoint myself. Nevertheless, every day is a good day to try and be thankful about something whether big or small.


You may not be where you want to be this year. You may not have the things you think you deserve. You may not understand why things happened the way they did. Or maybe you can’t even see how to move forward. Hold on. Have Hope.


There is no doubt in my mind, that somehow, someway, you are glad that you are not where you used to be. And for that…you can be thankful. So what does being in a posture of thanksgiving look like?

Here are some very random personal thoughts for which I am thankful for.


An awesome, forgiving, and loving God. My husband of 31 years. Quality of life. My mother, a recent widow. A clean bed to sleep in. Four amazing sons. Cell phones. Loving relationships with my siblings. This day. Good food! No college debt. Girlfriends and Google. A place to call home. Butter pecan ice cream. Adoring nieces and nephews. One saved voicemail from my deceased dad. Great public schools. My Rock Life Church family and online services. Being hopeful. Online shopping. A safe and friendly neighborhood. Access to clean water. Yesterday’s lessons learned.

Attitude Adjustment

Whether you are living a life of good and plenty or one with lack in some areas, there is so much that you can be grateful for. How can you be thankful in all things, which is different than thankful for all things?


Sometimes it takes looking at those things in a different way, a different perspective. For instance, let’s consider that you have a job you hate, for a host of reasons, but you haven’t resigned. You may not be thankful for being overlooked for a promotion, for your mediocre pay raise, for a long commute, for the midnight shift or working weekends. But a thankful attitude is about looking at the brighter side.


Being thankful in spite of the facts sounds something like this…. I can spend more time with my family since that promotion required weekend travels. I am glad to have a job in this economy where millions are unemployed and businesses are bankrupt. I may have only received a cost of living increase, but my health insurance rates decreased so I have more in my paycheck. I am grateful to have a car because the public transportation would be double the commute time. Working nights allows me to be home when the kids get off the bus, so I avoid after school care. I can run errands quicker during the day while everyone else is at work.


As 2020 comes to an end, consider all that you have experienced this year and finish with a grateful heart.


List twenty things to be thankful for in the comments below.


Let your heart be full of both Thanks and Giving always!

30 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Be Well

bottom of page