top of page
Search

Be Teachable

Updated: Sep 25, 2020

I was one of those kids who looked forward to the end of summer. I know you must be thinking…Why? Well, because I couldn’t wait to get back to the routine and the packed schedule of activities. No more hap hazard days, shuffling between family members home, camps, or the abundance of chores that awaited. I wanted to see my friends, play organized sports, and get involved with all the extracurricular clubs and activities.


Simultaneously, I was excited to begin the new school year. Yes, I wanted to go to school because of the variety of courses and electives I had carefully chosen. There were only a few options back in the 80’s, unlike todays buffet of subject choices. Never-the-less, I was eager about would I be able to squeeze in. Hmmm... Photography, Creative Writing, Drivers Ed, Yearbook, Sewing, Art, Typing, Library, and Home Economics.


Unlike many of my friends who just looked for effortless classes, my goals in choosing courses was all about what new things I could learn that year. We had some talented faculty who was willing to teach us and I was willing to learn. Ask anyone who knows me, they can attest that I have buckets of hobbies, interest, and passions to explore. It was time to create, investigate, grow, master something and have fun while learning.




As an adult, what does it take to be teachable? Amongst other things, it definitely requires you to be willing to listen to others, put your thinking cap on and the desire to be transformed. No one is right about everything all the time. Me, you, we … don’t know everything there is to know. We know things in part. Period.


If you need to get to the next level, or are struggling in a particular area, look for a mentor, a teacher, a coach. With the array of technology today, we have endless opportunities to foster learning anytime, anywhere. Just watch a podcast, a TedTalk, a webinar, listen to a book or take online classes.


I believe the secret also lies in true humility which is characterized by one's teachablility. Being able to admit the truth to yourself, recognize your limitations and learn what you don’t know. Our goal should be to get wisdom and get knowledge. Your future could depend on it.


Be teachable, regardless of how much you think you know. In spite of your title. No matter how many degrees you have or haven't acquired. Never mind the zeros in your salary. Whether you are the boss or not. Realize that at some point in your day, in this life, we are going to make mistakes and bad decisions along the way. We have to be willing to learn from them and move forward.


Most people don’t plan to fail but will fail to plan. Plan to be a lifelong learner and you will see success in every area of your life. Even today, I look forward to new seasons as opportunities to grow and learn and build and spread my wings. More often than not, I am up for a challenge…something to get my creative juices flowing. Think about it this way…


"If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you.

And if you are determined to learn, no one can stop you."

Zig Ziglar


Attitude Adjustment

I’ve heard it said that you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. I totally disagree. No matter your age, you can decide if you are capable and want to learn more. Remember, self-improvement is important and vital to our overall health and well-being. Let me encourage you today to embark upon a lifestyle of continued education.

I challenge you to note a few things you want to learn before the end of the year. Find several ways to increase your knowledge and get to work. For example:


Learn to make homemade lasagna

Learn to buy Stocks

Learn to become certified at something

Learn how to use that new smart phone

Learn to drive a stick shift

Learn to how to save money on groceries

Learn how to use social media

Learn about US Voting Rights

Learn about a biblical character

Learn to trust in your relationships


Personally, I'm going to challenge myself to learn how to effectively promote my NEW RELEASED book titled, "My Life for Yours: Chronicles of a Caregiver". There are so many user platforms: social media, mailing list, guest speaking, book signings, and digital campaigns. Wish me luck. I have some homework to do!


33 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page